Today is Freedom

I awake to the sun streaming through my window. I throw off the covers and let it warm my skin. Suddenly I relish the ability to do this, to lie naked on my bed and listen to the whisper of the trees. There was once a time that my door would be barred from entry and I would wear pajamas in the height of summer. I would be listening, not for the breeze and birdsong, but for the sound of his keys that he wore hung from his belt.
I watch the blue sky and stretch out decadently. I must remember to relish these things. To take a moment to enjoy my freedom, acknowledge the past and see how far I’ve come.
Today I will only do the things that I want to do.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 63 other followers

